The Climate Emergency EDM

The Climate Emergency EDM has evolved since it was first created in 2009, acting as a barometer of political support for necessary action on climate change.

The information about MPs who have previously signed the EDM will be useful in giving an indication of those who are more likely to be supportive towards radical action on climate.

EDM 2057
The original early day motion on climate emergency was EDM 2057, which was tabled in the autumn of 2009, by Colin Challen MP. 45 MPs signed up to this, showing that there is real support for emergency climate measures amongst MPs.

The EDM generated media attention because of its radical demands: Cut the speed limit to 55mph
Yorkshire Post: MP urges cut in speed limit to save the planet
Herald Scotland: “Phase out UK flights by next year” MPs say
Morley Observer & Advertiser: Green MP in bid to reduce speed limit
Lancashire Evening Post: Save the planet... just slow down and get off the plane

EDM 189
The EDM was subsquently retabled as EDM 189 in January 2010, attracting 41 signatures. Some MPs signed both EDMs - the total number of MPs who signed either EDM was 69.

List of those who signed both EDM 189 & EDM 2057 (30):

Bottomley, Peter
Worthing West
Brooke, Annette
Mid Dorset & North Poole
Lib Dem
Caton, Martin
Corbyn, Jeremy
Islington North
Durkan, Mark
Flynn, Paul
Newport West
Hancock, Mike
Portsmouth South
Lib Dem
Heath, David
Somerton & Frome
Lib Dem
Hepburn, Stephen
Hopkins, Kelvin
Luton North
Hoyle, Lindsay
Hunter, Mark
Lib Dem
McDonnell, John
Hayes & Harlington
McGovern, Jim
Dundee West
Meale, Alan
Mulholland, Greg
Leeds North West
Lib Dem
Pound, Stephen
Ealing North
Stunell, Andrew
Hazel Grove
Lib Dem
Williams, Mark
Lib- Dem
Hemming, John         
Birmingham, Yardley             
Dobson, Frank          
Holborn St Pancras                
Abbot, Diane             
Hackney Norh & Stoke Newington
Campbell, Ronnie     
Blyth Valley                            
Elfyn Llwyd               
Meirionnydd & Nant Conwy      
Plaid Cymru
Godsiff, Roger           
Birmingham Sparkbrook            
Sherman, Barry        
Farron, Timothy       
Westmorland & Lonsdale        
Featherstone, Lynne
Hornsey and Wood Green     
Dowd, Jim
Lewisham West
Teather, Sarah
Brent East


List of those who signed only EDM 2057 (24)

Austin, Jim
Erith and Thamesmead
Cawsey, Ian Brigg and Goole Lab
Challen, Colin Morley and Rothwell Lab
Cohen, Harry Leyton and Wansead Lab
Cook, Frank Stockton North Lab
Cryer, Ann Keighley Lab
Davies, Dai Blaenau Gwent Independent
Drew, David Stroud Lab
Etherington, Bill Sunderland North Lab
Gallloway, George Bethnal Green Respect
Gerrard, Neil Walthamstow Lab
Gidley, Sandra Romsey Lib-Dem
Heath, David Portsmouth South Lib-Dem
Hemming, John Birmingham Yardley Lib-Dem
Holmes, Paul Chesterfield Lib-Dem
Jones, Lynn Birmingham, Selly Oak Lab
Laxton, Bob Derby North Lab
Marsall-Andrews, Robert Medway Lab
Morley, Elliot Scunthorpe Lab
Prosser, Gwyn Dover Lab
Reed, Andy Loughborough Lab
Short, Clare Birmingham Ladywood Independent Labour
Simpson, Alan Nottingham South Lab
Williams, Betty Conwy Lab

List of those who signed only EDM 189 (15)

Anderson, Janet Rossendale and Darwen Lab
Brake, Tom Carshalton and Wallington Lib-Dem
Burgon, Colin Elmet Lab
Campbell, Ronnie Blyth Valley Lab
Dhanda, Parmjit Gloucester Lab
Dismore, Andrew Hendon Lab
 Jenkins, Brian  Tamworth  Lab
Keetch, Paul Hereford Lib-Dem
Morgan, Julie Cardiff North Lab
Pelling, Andrew Croydon Central Ind
Rowen, Paul Rochdale Lib-Dem
Truswell, Paul Pudsey Lab
Turner, Desmond Brighton Kemptown Lab
Vis, Rudi Finchley and Golders Green Lab
Williaams, Hywel Caernarfon Plaid Cymru

EDM 853
This was a revised version of the original EDM (189 & 2057, which were identical). It was tabled on 18th October 2010 by John Mcdonnell MP and it incorporated most of the Campaign's radical demands. One that was not mentioned was the moratorium on agrofuels which was however demanded through another EDM: EDM 230.

List of those who signed EDM 853 (20):

Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavillion
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South
McDonnell, John Labour Party Belfast South
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax
Sharma, Virenda Labour Party Ealing Southall
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen


EDM 303
This is the current Climate Emergency EDM (the same as 853 but retabled by John Mcdonnell MP in July 2012). It remains the most radical statement on climate change within a parliamentary context, while supporting most of our emergency demands.

here for more info.