Clean energy vote narrowly lost - what next?

After masses of emails, meetings, and organisations lining up to support decarbonisation of our electricity supply, MPs supporting it narrowly lost the vote on Tuesday. The Government's majority was reduced to just 23, so the amendment would have passed if just 12 more Lib Dem backbenchers had voted in line with their party's official position. Seven Tories also followed Tim Yeo's lead and voted for his amendment. Find out how your MP voted below.

The amendment is not yet dead - with such a close vote the Lords will look at it carefully. A Lords rebellion would not necessarily mean that George Osborne would give in and adopt the target, but it could result in a stronger commitment to clean energy than is currently in the bill.

The campaign for clean energy by 2030 has also helped strengthen the climate movement in this country, and we will be working with our allies to build on this momentum.

Thank you to everyone who campaigned so hard over the past months for this.

Electricity decarbonisation by 2030 - how MPs voted

The list below only covers Tories who voted 'yes' and Lib Dems - for a full list check Hansard (scroll down to 3.59pm). Ministerial roles have been included as they act as a constraint on rebelling against government policy.

Tories who voted for the amendment

Peter Aldous
David Amess
Sir Peter Bottomley
Zac Goldsmith
Jason McCartney
Caroline Nokes
Dr Matthew Offord
Tim Yeo

Lib Dems who voted for the amendment

Annette Brooke
Sir Malcolm Bruce
Tim Farron
Andrew George
John Hemming
Martin Horwood
Dr Julian Huppert
Mr John Leech
Greg Mulholland
Tessa Munt
John Pugh
Mr Adrian Sanders
Mr David Ward
Mr Mark Williams
Roger Williams
Stephen Williams

Lib Dems who voted against it

Danny Alexander (Chief Secretary to the Treasury)
Norman Baker (Department of Transport, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State)
Sir Alan Beith
Tom Brake (Office of the Leader of the Commons, Parliamentary Secretary)
Jeremy Browne (Home Office, Minister of State)
Paul Burstow
Vince Cable (Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills)
Alistair Carmichael (Deputy Chief Whip)
Nick Clegg (Deputy Prime Minister)
Mike Crockart
Ed Davey (Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change)
Lynne Featherstone (Department for International Development, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State)
Don Foster (Department for Communities and Local Government, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State)
Stephen Gilbert
Duncan Hames
Sir Nick Harvey
Simon Hughes
Norman Lamb (Department of Heath, Minister of State)
David Laws (Department for Education, Minister of State)
Michael Moore (Secretary of State for Scotland)
Alan Reid
Dan Rogerson
Sir Bob Russell
Sir Robert Smith
Ian Swales
Jo Swinson (Parliamentary Under Secretary for the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills)
Steve Webb (Department for Work and Pensions, Minister of State)
Jenny Willott

Lib Dems who were AWOL

Menzies Campbell
Lorely Burt
Tim Farron
Gordon Birtwistle (despite promising to support)
Mark Hunter (Assistant Government Whip)
David Heath (Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Minister of State)
Charles Kennedy (despite promising to support)
Stephen Lloyd
Andrew Stunell (despite signing the amendment!)
Sarah Teather
John Thurso
Simon Wright